Get Help

Links to Other Kinds of Help

Other organisations that can help

 

Claiming benefits

Universal Credit helpline: 0800 328 5644, www.gov.uk/universal-credit/how-to-claim

Universal Credit: information on deductions  www.gov.uk/guidance/find-out-about-money-taken-off-your-universal-credit-payment

All benefits: www.gov.uk/browse/benefits

DWP contact number:  0800 7310469

MVA: www.mva.org.uk/financial-capability

Employment & Support Allowance: www.gov.uk/employment-support-allowance

 

 

Debt Advice

Step Change: 0800 138 1111, www.stepchange.org

Citizens Advice Bureau: 01634 383760 Kingsley House Balmoral Road Gillingham www.medwayadvice.org.uk

Christians Against Poverty: (CAP at Cornerstone City Church) 0800 3280006 capuk.org/i-want-help/our-services/cap-debt-help/introduction

MVA: www.mva.org.uk/financial-capability

 

Housing issues

Housing Advice Medway Council: www.medway.gov.uk/info/200134/housing

AMAT: 0800 6981000 (24 hour)    email: [email protected]

MHS homes: Medway 01634 565333 www.mhs.org.uk

Shelter: free helpline 0808 8004444

NIRVANA Care and Support Hub: Supporting young people with special needs to live independently 01634 404441

 

 

Physical health

Your local pharmacy

Your GP

NHS 111 : Call 111 for free from a landline or mobile phone 24hrs a day, every day of the year

Medway Community Healthcare: www.medwaycommunityhealthcare.nhs.uk    0300 123 34444

 

Mental health

Mind North Kent: 01322 291380       www.northkentmind.co.uk

Medway Talking Therapies   0300 209 3000

Samaritans: Call 116 123 for free or 03300945717

MEGAN 01634 402077    Your voice in mental health    www.megancic.org.uk

Release the Pressure: 0800 1070160    Mental Health Matters

 

Domestic abuse

Victim Support: www.victimsupport.org.uk        Tel: 0808 1689111

National Domestic Abuse Helpline: 0808 2000 247    www.nationaldahelpline.org.uk

Hourglass: (Safer ageing – Stopping abuse) 0808 808 8141   www.wearehourglass.org

Childline: 0800 1111 www.childline.org.uk

NSPCC: 0808 800 5000      www.nspcc.org.uk

MDAS: Medway Domestic Abuse Service 0800 917948 www.choicesdaservice.org.uk/mdas

 

Addiction

Alcoholics Anonymous: 0800 9177650 email:[email protected]

Narcotics Anonymous: 0300 999 1212 www.ukna.org

Cocaine Anonymous: 0800 612 0225 www.cocaineanonymous.org.uk

Gamblers Anonymous: 0330 094 0322 www.gamblersanonymous.org.uk

Medway Turning Point: 0300 1231560 email:[email protected]

KMPT Drugs and Alcohol www.kmpt.nhs.uk

 

Help for families:

Medway Children & Family Hubs  www.medway.gov.uk/familyhubs

Chatham Children and Family Hub: 01634 338833

Gillingham Children and Family Hub: 01634 338877

Strood Children and Family Hub: 01634 335533

Wayfield & Rainham Children and Family Hub: 01634 337733

 

Medway Family Information Service Family Information Service Medway

 

Home-start Medway: (volunteer support for those with a child under 5)

01634 570717 home-startmedway.org.uk/

 

Other:

Age UK for later life  0800 678 1602  www.ageuk.org.uk

Back to Get Help